Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.
Dec 7

Settler Colonialism and Pedagogies of Liberation

December 7, 2022 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every week that begins at 5:00 pm on Wednesday, repeating until December 7, 2022

Virtual Event Virtual Event
pedagogies of liberation
Keywords: Settler colonialism, pedagogies of liberation, land-based teaching, displacement, border and cultural studies, occupation/theft (privatization, containment, dispossession), decolonizing approaches to learning, principles of responsibility. The questions in this series are anchored in the pedagogical approach to teach/learn beyond the binary, as part of Dr. Clelia O. Rodriguez’s commitment to dignify community-based ancestral knowledge to recuperate sustainable ways of living. Students/participants will be encouraged to make connections between local, everyday practices and wider historical contexts and critically analyze settler colonialism across Turtle Island (Canada/US) and other settler colonial contexts, such as Aoteroa/New Zealand, Palestine/Israel, South Americas and South Africa. Leading Faculty: Dr. Clelia O. Rodriguez Partnering Faculty: Dr. Krista Hunt, Dr. Fatima Sajjad Wed Sep 14 Welcome by Sewa Marsha Valencia, Yoeme/Yaqui lineage Guests: Yamini Menon and Ram Trikha Wed Sep 21 – Telesh Lopez Wed Sep 28 – Dr. Eva Marie Wang Wed Oct 5 – Teresa Yeh Wed Oct 12 – Nana Brew-Hammond Wed Oct 19 – Jackie Namadi Wed Oct 26 – Ana Raquel (Guaricha) Wed Nov 2 – ALL Wed Nov 9 – Haushala Thapa Wed Nov 16 – Krudxs Cubensi Wed Nov 23 – Dr. Andrew Campbell Wed Nov 30 – Linda Thai Wed Dec 7 – Dr. Anthony Guerra, aka Primegogo